2013 FOL Book & Author Luncheon Photos

More than 300 people attended the Friends of the Library’s 44th annual Richard D. Whittemore Book & Author Luncheon on May 17, 2013, at the North Hills Country Club, which featured authors David Nasaw and Will Schwalbe and moderator Susan Isaacs. The luncheon was a huge success, breaking attendance records — the literary event of the year! Enjoy these photos, which were taken by volunteers Will Wright and Seth Ehrlich.

FOL president Amy G. Bass

FOL vice president Ellen Zimmerman and board member Margaret DeSiervo

Joan Nahas, a Silver Sponsor of the luncheon, library director Nancy Curtin, and FOL board member Beverly Halm

Attendance at the luncheon exceeded 300, a new record!

Geoff Gordon and FOL board member Karen Gordon


Carol Hoenig, Debbi Honorof and Shelly Russo enjoy the cocktail hour

The "Close Readers" Book Club

The Whittemore family

The FOL Board of Directors with authors and library director Nancy Curtin


Author David Nasaw, Michael Zimmerman, and FOL vice president Ellen Zimmerman

JoAnn Sica and Nora Johnson

Doreen Gamell and Ellen Fox, a "Gold" Sponsor of the luncheon

Library Trustee Nancy Comer and Library Foundation Board Member Ed Adler. Mr. Adler was a "Bronze" Sponsor of the Luncheon.

Schreiber HS Social Studies teacher Brian Frank and student Robert Gray

Library Director Nancy Curtin, President of the Library Board of Trustees Lee Aitken, and Sam Guedouar, general manager of the Amsterdam at Harboside, a "Gold" sponsor of the luncheon

FOL vice president Nancy Wright and treasurer Tinu Thakore hard at work at the event

Nancy Curtin, library director, and Lee Aitken, president of library board of trustees with Agha Ali (third from left) of Citibank Port Washington, a "Silver" Sponsor of the luncheon

Edith VanRaalte, FOL vice president Nancy Wright and Ruth Feingold


Authors WIll Schwalbe and David Nasaw with FOL president Amy Bass and vice president Nancy Wright

Historian David Nasaw with FOL president Amy Bass


Luncheon moderator Susan Isaacs: novelist, screenwriter and Port resident

Kim Kaiman, author Will Schwalbe, and Town Supervisor Jon Kaiman (Kim is Will's cousin!)

The Beacon Hill Book Club with FOL board member Robert Drew

Authors Will Schwalbe and David Nasaw signing their books

Val Taylor and Abby Orshevsky

Pat Lee and Library Trustee Myron Blumenfeld

Ed and Dot Slade

Authors Will Schwalbe and David Nasaw with program moderator Susan Isaacs



FOL junior volunteer Luke O'Connell, author David Nasaw, FOL board member Pam O'Connell, library trustee John O'Connell

Lee Aitken, president of the library board of trustees, and Patricia Bridges, library trustee and "Bronze" sponsor of the luncheon

FOL board member Bob Drew and volunteer photographer Will Wright


Toshiko Mape, Jane Mason, Susan Isaacs, and Yosuko Yamaguchi


Marcia Kirschenbaum, Janet Boxer, Linda Waxler


Manhasset library administrators Victoria Chrystie and Maggie Gough with Hicksville LIbrary's Frank McKenna