“featured”
 
 
 
"featured"
 
Lucy
Lucy
Lucy

Best Wishes for Miss Lucy

Saturday, April 11 2:00 pm – 4:00 pm Please join us to wish our beloved Lucy Salerno a Happy Retirement! Her library career began in 1970 and she was a devoted children’s librarian loved by all. Both children and adults are invited to visit and share happy memories with Miss Lucy. Light refreshments will be served.
 

March 10, 2015
Tags:



 
"featured"
 
literacy
literacy
literacy

Early Literacy Kits!

The Children’s Room is happy to announce that  we have Early Literacy Kits to borrow. The different themed kits are; Transportation, ABC, New Baby, Counting, Colors, Down on the Farm, and Frog & Friends. These kits include themed picture books, audio CDs, interactive DVDs, lyrics to finger-plays and rhymes and more! Here are some guidelines for borrowing the kits: Kits may only be checked out and returned to the Children’s Services Desk Do not use Book Drop. Do not return to other libraries. Borrowers must be Port Washington Residents. The kits may be borrowed for 14 days, and may not be renewed.
 

February 27, 2015
Tags:



 
"featured"
 
421461_287613254669622_944244134_n
421461_287613254669622_944244134_n
421461_287613254669622_944244134_n

The Broccoli Rob Show

Friday, March 27 at 4 p.m.   Celebrate National Nutrition Month with singer/songwriter Robert Poe (a.k.a. Broccoli Rob). Through music, dance, comedy and plenty of audience participation you’ll learn about the importance of eating healthy, being active and making better lifestyle choices. For elementary school children in grades K and up with an adult. Limited seats are available on a first come first served basis. Parents: please comply with the age requirement for this program.
 

February 19, 2015
Tags:



 
"featured"
 
borntoread_logo
borntoread_logo
borntoread_logo

Born to Read! Find Out About a Special Welcome Gift!

Congratulations new parents!  The Port Washington Public Library is proud to be part of a nationwide initiative that promotes early literacy.  Born to Read was created to reach out to new parents and their babies to support the sharing of books together.  This special bond between parents and children can begin from the time a child is born. Port Washington families with babies born anytime in the year 2014 and 2015 are invited to visit the Children’s Room to receive the Born To Read welcome gift! Sponsored by the Friends of the Library.
 

December 30, 2014
Tags:



 
"featured"
 
download
download
download

NEW BOOKLIST! Making ‘Em Laugh: A Collection of Funny Books for Grades 3-6

Click Below To View Our Newest Booklist Or Stop By the Children's Desk To Pick Up Your Own Copy Today! Making 'Em Laugh: A Collection of Funny Books for Grades 3-6
 

November 14, 2014
Tags:



 
"featured"
 
Great_Bedtime_Stories_with_Magic_Tree_House_Books
Great_Bedtime_Stories_with_Magic_Tree_House_Books
Great_Bedtime_Stories_with_Magic_Tree_House_Books

Looking For a Magic Tree House Readalike? Try One Of These!

Magic Tree House Readalikes: The Secrets of Droon Series by Tony Abbott Cam Jansen Series by David Adler The Indian in the Cupboard by Lynne Reid Banks The Spiderwick Chronicles Series by Tony DiTerlizzi and Holly Black Bailey School Kids Series by Debbie Dadey My Father's Dragon Series by Ruth Gannet Andrew Lost Series by J.C. Greenburg The Treasure Chest Series by Ann Hood Dragon Slayer's Academy  Series by Kate McMullan Jigsaw Jones Series by James Preller A to Z Mysteries Series by Ron Roy The Time Warp Trio Series by Jon Scieszka I Survived... Series by Lauren Tarshis The Castle in the Attic by Elizabeth Winthrop
 

October 30, 2014
Tags:



 
"featured"
 
kindle-paperwhite-review-kids-reading
kindle-paperwhite-review-kids-reading
kindle-paperwhite-review-kids-reading

NEW! Children’s Kindles for Younger Readers!

Children’s Services is happy to introduce circulating Kindles for younger children that come pre-loaded with children’s books. Kindles can be checked out for 14 days. They cannot be renewed or reserved. Stop by the Children’s Services Desk, or call us at 883-4400 Ext. 150, for more information. The Kindles are made possible by the Friends of the Port Washington Public Library. The current list of titles on the Younger Children’s Kindles as of: October 2014 Fake Mustache by Tom Angleberger The One and Only Ivan by Katherine Applegate Frindle by Andrew Clements Because of Winn-Dixie by Kate DiCamillo Leroy Ninker Saddles Up by Kate DiCamillo The Year of Billy Miller by Kevin Henkes Odd, Weird, Little by Patrick Jennings The Willoughbys by Lois Lowry Waiting for the Magic by Patricia MacLachlan Marty McGuire by Kate Messner
 

October 17, 2014
Tags:



 
"featured"
 
emailalerts
emailalerts
emailalerts

Sign Up To Receive Email Alerts For Children’s Programs

Now you can have find out about our children's programs conveniently in your 'Inbox'. Sign up to be alerted via email about upcoming children's programs, family events, parenting programs and more! It's easy: Click the link below, enter your email, and check off the Children's Room listed under Email Lists. Click here to sign up today!
 

September 3, 2014
Tags: